Ben Tsai

New Pomodoro Timer

I’ve been in a productivity funk (a.k.a. easily distracted), so I figured it’s time to pull out an old hack that I’ve had mild success with: the 🍅 Pomodoro Technique[1]. This path often got sidetracked by finding the perfect Pomodoro app. But now, I’ve got a dedicated physical timer with audible ticking which I’m super excited about:

Kitchen timer

I’ve said it before, others have said it, and I’ll say it again – there’s something about having tools that do a single thing. The app versions were especially distracting because they ended up being an additional digital distraction. So, let’s give this a go!

[1]: My version of this is: Set the timer for 25 minutes and commit to not check twitter, etc during that time. Then take a 5 minute break. Write down what you did. Repeat. We’ll see if I go more formal.

Tuesday, September 21, 2021